Free at Last! September 9th 2016.

I finally managed to get back to where I was in April – those ten pounds that have dogged me forever finally gave up the ghost and as the scales began their final glorious inexorable descent, I dared to believe that this time my journey really is a different one.

In fact I am now down three stone and a quarter of a pound – that’s a very important quarter – it suggests the descent is not yet over.

Before this I have often lost weight successfully for several months – the story every dieter can tell you – you get a burst of enthusiasm, diet madly and lose maybe a couple of stone – that’s quite easy to do if you have seven or eight to lose. And then you have a bad week and the scales go in the opposite direction. And again. And again. And slowly but surely you watch helplessly as those dreaded scales remind you of the failure you feel inside – that you are just fat and nothing you can do will change that.

It’s not true though! I can tell you – this time it’s not true! I have managed to hold the gain at ten pounds forever it seemed – without giving up the ghost altogether – and there’s a very good reason for that – the food I am eating. The reduction of carbs is significant – but the complete removal of sugar is empowering. It has even resulted in a clean bill of health at the dentist’s yesterday – no decay since last year – I told her and she was impressed – living proof of yet another benefit of giving up sugar.

If you had said to me a year ago that I would be quite happy to have lost only half a pound from April to September I would have laughed. I have always set great big goals for myself – projecting big losses into the very near future – planning a stone or two in a month. Now I have no such expectations. I would like to lose six and a half pounds between now and September 30th but I’m okay if that doesn’t happen – that will get me into a new stone – one I haven’t seen for a very long time. I hit a plateau – and boy it was a big one – it stretched forever – but it’s gone and new adventures lie ahead.

If even one person seeing my story gets to change their story then I will be happy – the weight loss journey is as unique to each one of us as our DNA – and yet each is made of the same ingredients – a mixture of hope and despair – the trick is to make sure the hope hides the taste of despair long enough for you to believe in yourself – you can do this! I can do this!

Bant!

I had a friend at work bring me some freshly pulled rhubarb this week – and I was delighted to see that it is very low carb so fine for me to eat.  I love rhubarb and I love crumble so I went on the hunt to find a crumble recipe – and came across a link somewhere for a crumble topping that included flax seeds – I didn’t have any so I just made my own version of the recipe and it was lovely.

 

img_3755

Banting rhubarb crumble

Heat oven to 160 fan.

Ingredients

  • rhubarb – eight stalks approx
  • 25 gms xylitol – or more to taste
  • 1.5 tblsp ground chia seed

Mix these three together – chop the rhubarb and place in pot with the xylitol and  ground chia, and coo on a medium hob until melted and soft through. Set aside.

  • 100gms ground almond
  • 35 gms dessicated coconut
  • 1/2 tsp each of all spice and mixed spice
  • 10 chopped pecans – optional really – I added them one day, not the next

Mix all dry ingredients together

  • 50gms melted butter
  • tsp vanilla extract

Add the vanilla to the butter then mix into the dry ingredients and keep mixing until the butter is fully absorbed into the dry mix. Pour the mixture out onto a parchment sheet on an oven tray and pat down so it is flat.

Cook for about 16 minutes and then check – remove from the oven when the sides start to crisp.

Leave to cool then put some rhubarb into a bowl and crack off a piece of the topping and crack it over the fruit. Serve with freshly whipped cream.

Truly divine!

I made it again this evening and accidentally put xylitol into the topping as well – it tastes so sweet! Not a good addition! You could add hazelnuts or buttered nuts – think I mentioned those before – I heat some butter in the pan and throw in the packet of Lidl nuts with some spices – they would be lovely with it I’d imagine too. Macadamia are too soft and would burn easily – hazelnuts might be a bit too hard – play about and see what works for you.

 

 

If I can do this anyone can – you owe it to yourself to banish sugar from your life – try it for a month – you will be amazed.

Orla

 

4 Replies to “Free at Last! September 9th 2016.”

  1. I love your blog and have read every post! I hope you don’t mind me saying though that you seem to make quite a lot of low-carb puddings/desserts/sweet treats which is presumably because you loved baking so much before you discovered Banting. Maybe the key is to stop replacing the puddings and get past your sweet tooth for good?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Fausto!
      Thank you for your kind words.
      I suppose I started the blog for two reasons – one to talk of the journey and two to post recipes I have found that work for me.
      You are right that I bake a lot. For me this journey isn’t about dieting – obviously I have weight to lose – it is more about proving that you can live low carb and still enjoy life. So I find recipes and make them – but often freeze them or let my husband and children have them. I want this to be a food plan that works as a sustainable lifestyle – not as a quick fix.
      I think you have a good point about losing the sweet tooth – but if we had no treats I would never stick to this way of life – and my husband definitely wouldn’t!
      I find posting about the dinners I make more boring but maybe I should write those up too! On the participant chat on the RMR site they talk a lot about giving it all up. I think my weight loss would be much faster if I did. But I’m not sure I’d still be living the lifestyle 13 months on.
      Thank you for the comment. It is appreciated and I will keep a closer eye on my sweetness I promise!

      Like

      1. Thank you for taking my comment in the spirit it was intended! 🙂
        You’re doing so well and it’s an incredible way of eating. I am trying to work out what’s stalling me at the moment and it can be incredibly frustrating. For me, it’s probably either wine, cheese or lack of sleep (not for want of trying)… waaah.
        Is there a way I can subscribe to your blog so I can see when you write a new post?

        Like

      2. You should be able to click on the bottom of any post and follow – then you get an email when I post.
        I think it’s hard for women. My husband has the odd slice of bread and bit of potato and is losing! And I’m not!

        Like

Leave a comment